The Detox- Day 2: The Temptation Begins

Let me start by following up with the night of Feb 21st: by 8 o’clock that evening, hunger really kicked in and I started craving cheeseburgers and assorted junk food-I could not even turn on the television because of the food ads. I had a strong urge to cave in and go get a burger but with the help of my alliances I resisted.

Sleep:

  • I noticed that at 11:30pm that night I became incredibly drowsy and was in bed by midnight-woke up around 8 a.m. and then fell back asleep until 10:00 a.m. — I hit snooze twice and woke up feeling worse than I did before bed. I had a headache and there was a significant burning sensation in my eye sockets. This is typical for me, but yesterday morning it was especially bad. (an 8 on a 1-10 discomfort scale).The entire morning I was tired, listless and extremely low on energy.

Workout:

  • No workout yesterday. I noticed I was sore from the treadmill the previous day.

Diet:

  • Yesterday (02/22) I did not consume as many calories as I needed to. In a 14 hour day I consumed the following:
  • 1 vegan taco salad
  • A handful of almonds
  • A handful of granola
  • A handful of sunflower seeds
  • 1 orange

Needless to say, I was very very hungry by nightfall, so I just ate a few almonds before bed.

Water:

  • Best water day so far! (It’s only been 2 days ha ha!) I drank 1 liter of Dasani and 2 huge cups of water at the bar. (The big cups they use for “beer steins”). Overall, I did not feel as thirsty as I usually do, and the water was definitely refreshing.

Physical Sensations/Differences:

  • Odd headaches! I cannot describe them as simple headaches. It feels like my brain is basting in acid and it hurts near my temples and in the back of my head and the sensation makes me very lethargic. I chalk this up to needing more sleep-but I do not know if that’s a good idea considering I slept 10 hours the previous night
  • More “stable” energy level during the day. Once my initial morning fog lifted, I felt generally capable of daily tasks. It was a low energy day though, I felt slower and more tired than I did on the 21st and even when I perked up in the afternoon it was fractional.

Mood/Cravings:

  • Okay. Cravings were THE WORST during the evening. I wanted to give up so badly and eat every fast food item I could think of. At the bar, I wanted a beer very badly (but I resisted and drank steins of water with lemon!) but mostly I was craving food. Everything that was cooking at the bar smelled stronger than usual and seemed infinitely more appetizing. This was the most intense craving I have had yet (way stronger than the first day)
  • Although I wanted food, my sugar craving was non-existent! I almost ordered cranberry juice at the bar, but felt sickened by the thought of anything sweet. I also have not wanted a soda yet! (whoo!)
  • I was moody when I woke up because I was tired and felt awful but as my energy leveled I felt generally normal during the remainder of the day.

Generally the 22nd was a slightly below average day, have not noticed anything dramatic in the way I feel. I should have eaten way more food but just did not have the time yesterday.

{1 being the worst, 10 the best}

Overall Physical Energy: (1-10): 5.5

Overall Sleepiness: (1-10): 7

Overall Mood: (1-10): 6

Leave a Reply

