A Not-So Friendly Review: Arriba's Mexican Grill- Dos

Date night! Yay! And where do you think we end up…I mean, I am a believer in second chances. The words “Arriba’s Mexican Grill” loomed at me in bright red lettering dare I say, ominously?  Maybe it was just my imagination…but lovely Ariel and I waltzed in at around 3:00pm and were promptly seated. I have to say this was a good start.

Oh crap, spoke to soon! Our waiter, a small man with a hurried manner, answered our questions about the menu and drinks rather plainly, like he would have rather been in some sort of boot camp than be serving the two lovely females before him. I usually do not like to have emotional reactions to the attitudes of the restaurant staff, I figure curtness is a symptom of a bad day…(and yes, I know that I am way too nice) so for the moment I chose to ignore it.

I had bigger obstacles to overcome, like the menu that looked very daunting and full of potential “mistakes” if you get my drift. I decided on a chicken enchilada with green chile, because I love enchiladas and figured I could not go wrong. Wrong. The presentation of the food was lovely, but within a minute or so, the cheese covering started to form a thin film that is typical of school-lunch “chili”. So here I am, peeling it off with my fork in disgust, trying to figure out how something could congeal so quickly! The innards of the enchilada tasted alright (though I could have gone without the oozing green sauce that chicken was basting in). Ariel had the fish taco meal which only had one taco in it! For 7 dollars! I was taken aback by the price and the minuscule amount of food that came with it; she finished her food before I even took a sip of my ice water. Bummer, Ted.

Then it was margarita time everyone! My date and I both ordered about 2 each in the course of our dinner, and I also had Bud Light in a mug. I was going to be semi-fancy and order a Stella Artois or Modelo but by that point I was extremely weary of potential surprises and therefore opted out.


As we talked on incessantly and enjoyed our margaritas, the waiter tried his best to hurry us out by bringing the check after every drink and saying something that sounded like “okwouldyoulikeanotherdrinkor areyoutwoalright,yeahwouldyoulikethecheckor…” while putting the check down and picking it up again several times while he was rabbling on. Ariel and I both were at wits-end with the service at this point and about to ask for another waiter, when he returned saying it was time for him to go home and he would switch us to someone else. Thank the Lord Lady.

Too bad that what he said turned out to be a lie, because after he left, no one was appointed to wait on us and we sat there wondering if we had been forgotten; I scanned the place and eventually found a nice gentlemen who refreshed the beverages and cleared the table. My date complained to him about the service, and he profusely apologized for the other waiter- hmmph, ok that’s alright, but you could just clear our tab to show us how sorry you are. Just a thought.

So, I have truly learned my lesson this time. I am not going subject anyone else to Arriba’s Mexican Grill and will certainly be staying out of there myself! I am sure there are many other places in the valley that offer great drink specials and food that you can actually identify!

Leave a Reply

